top of page

‘Make playing music an essential part of your life, not just a weekend job’ - DJ Pete aka Substance


Legendary techno DJ and producer DJ Pete aka Substance has held his own for over two decades now in the Berlin techno scene. He skilful playing and song selection have secured him slots in some of the best clubs around the world and you can see him regularly play in Berghain. When he is not spinning, you can catch playing live as Substance or collaboration with Sleeparchive as TR-101.

The techno luminar DJ Pete has also provided us with a mix as well as an interview. In this mix we go back to his roots with an eclectic mix of wonderfully fused 90s tracks that are deep and serene but have a dancefloor energy. A mix perfect for going about your daily business or when getting ready for a night of revelry.

In this interview with MOTZ, DJ Pete aka Substance talks to us about his influences, how to maintain a long lasting career in the techno industry, his collaborations with Sleeparchive and his own projects.

What were your influences when you first started your career?

In the 80s I was listening to pretty normal music in the beginning, all types of dance music that was broadcasted in Germany and played in discotheques until bands like Nitzer Ebb and D.A.F. crossed my way and got my full attention. Their stripped down music to me was so much more on point than other stuff. Another important song that I always like to mention is Big Muff by Depeche Mode. This song probably was the first straight synth track without vocals that I’ve heard and it marks the beginning for me to search for more electronic dance music. I never was too much into hip hop, but I’ve had loads of fun listening to tracks like Planet Rock by Soulsonic Force and similar electro. My first underground records were from Chicago and I’ve bought several European Records from Hard Wax. Watching Jeff Mills DJing in the 90s, made me want to become a proper Techno DJ.

You were born and raised in Berlin and are landmark figure in the Berlin techno scene for over two decades now. How do you remain enthusiastic and energetic when others have crashed and burnt out in this duration?

It’s actually not so easy to remain enthusiastic and energetic if you do the same thing over and over again. To only DJ can sometimes result in a boring routine but fortunately various projects and interest in various music styles keep things exciting for me. Finding new music every week and adding this new music to my sets to various right spots is a daily challenge. Unconventional mixing also keeps me extending my own horizon, trying new things is a must. New generations of DJs, fans and ravers definitely keep me going, their feedback is highly appreciated.

Do you have any advice for people who want a long lasting career in this industry?

Explore everything in music, at least a little bit, to get an idea how things are connected. Be patient and do also have plan B and C inside the music industry. Do loads of smart clubbing. Open your eyes and let other styles and performers inspire you. DJing can be internalized and you’re going to make playing music an essential part of your life, not just a weekend job, it can be a great long lasting companion.

You play sometimes with Sleeparchive as TR-101, what made you want to collaborate with another artist and is it different to your usual sounds that you play?

All collaborations happened accidentally between my friends and myself and definitely are completely different to my work as DJ. I mainly have live projects with others than solo live projects, except Substance live and it’s great to be on tour with your friend instead of touring alone most of the time. TR-101 is mainly using two machines and a mixer. TR-909 and SH-101 slightly limit the range of sounds, but operating a machine that you now inside out, can create some magic moments. It especially is mind-blowing when you realize that your partner on stage operates your direction and the other way around. TR-101 gives an example of a pure techno live act. We’re arriving on stage and no patterns or sounds are prepared or stored in our machines. We just start playing and create tracks from scratch. Other live acts with friends of mine are Scion live and Tikiman live with Scion.

For your dj sets you are known as DJ Pete and for your live sets, Substance. How do they compare and is there a different response from the crowd towards the live and dj sets?

I currently DJ with 3 CDJs and add music from records to the mix every once in a while during my set. Using CDJs I’m playing complete tracks from all different type of styles and I create layers, more than playing one song and going to the next one afterwards. Mostly I try to find sparse bass music or broken Techno without accents on the kick, more with basslines, melodies and atmospheres to combine with beat focused techno tracks. However, I also just let a record play and enjoy the song.

The Substance live set includes my own songs and remixes taken apart to their single sounds. With Ableton Live, I put everything back together to versions of the original tunes.

Crowds always react in a different way, but fortunately in a very positive way so far.

DJ Pete plays alongside Sleeparchive this Saturday in Copenhagen's infamous Culture Box.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
bottom of page