top of page

‘I finally thought work actually pays off’- Charles Fenckler Interview


The latest talent to join the esteemed Soma Records family, Charles Fenckler has emerged from the lairs of his studio to produce a pounding plethora of deliciously deep, bass driven, hypnotic techno treats with the occasional sprinkle of squelchy acid.

After receiving solid support from globally recognised techno artists such as Jeff Mills, Chris Liebing and Adam Beyer, 2016 has been the breakthrough year for Fenckler. Proving that committing yourself to producing and working tirelessly to get the desired outcome, Fenckler is the poster boy for relentless dedication to succeed while creating his trademark sound. Of course, it helps if Joseph Capriati plays your track to a packed Boiler Room in Italy, much to the delight of the heaving, sweaty crowd…

MOTZ caught up with the man himself for a quick fire chat to talk Soma Records, French techno and ‘finding the feelings to share’ for his productions.

Hi Charles. Recently, you launched your first LP on Soma Records 'Diving from the Void’, which includes tracks called 'Anxiety' and 'Flirting With Disaster'. Do these names reflect your personality? Ahah not at all and I would even say I am the exact opposite. I only chose this titles to reflect the atmosphere of the tracks. What is the story behind your introduction to Soma Records? When I had several tracks ready to be out I contacted different labels and Soma wrote back with a positive answer. It was a dream for me to sign on Soma Records. Every artist has their own way of working in the studio. What was your process for the LP on a day-to-day basis? I did not start the production on my machines, as I needed first to find the feelings I wanted to share and the story I wanted to tell. It's only later that I focused on the production, which lasted for more than a year.

Your track 'Frozen Room' got coverage from big names like Joseph Capriati and Carl Cox across various festivals and shows this year, how did it feel seeing these artists expose your track to the world? I was fucking happy! It's always a very good feeling to have these kind of guys playing your music. I finally thought work actually pays off.

What was the underground music scene like in your hometown of Le Mans, France when you were growing up? There was absolutely no techno scene in Le Mans when I was younger. One of my friends brought me into this musical spirit and taught me how to DJ and produce music. Things are changing now as some of my friends have started to organise very good events where they have invited people like Keepsakes, Keith Carnal or Philippe Petit… Where is your favourite place to play banging techno in France? With no hesitation, Concrete and Le Rex in Paris. What can we look forward to from you in 2017? I'm already making new music, as I will release more EPs on Soma in 2017. You can also expect lots of new gigs across Europe, free tees and I might actually prepare a first live set. What artists have caught your attention as ones to watch for next year and why? Many French artists like Antigone or Voiski. Their tracks gave a new fresh air to the current techno scene.

Lastly, what is your definition of 'Techno'? Freedom.

Check out his sounds here:


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
bottom of page