top of page

P.E.A.R.L Interview - 'Berlin is always special to play.'

MOTZ recently caught up with techno luminar P.E.A.R.L. The renowned producer has played in some of the most prestigious techno temples in the world. His label Falling Ethics established in 2013 features techno giants such as Oscar Mulero, Phase Fatale, Orphx and these are just a few to name on this impressive label.

In this interview we discuss the music scene in Spain, about what is takes to have your own label and playing in Berlin.

When did you first discover your passion for techno?

I could say that 15 years ago I discovered techno for the first time but spent a little more time until I realized it was something more than just a musical taste.

At that time I was living in Barcelona and whenever I went to Santander (my hometown) my friends and I used to go to La Real in Oviedo (Asturias). That's possibly where I discovered my passion for techno, like many other people who had the opportunity to attend that mythical club in the north of Spain now disappeared.

Places like Berlin and Amsterdam have always had a thriving techno scene and now we see other European places like Paris and Italy developing a solid techno scene. What’s the scene like in Spain?

Spain has always had a strong scene in my opinion. Many interesting artists and powerful labels have come out ahead. Now, perhaps what is missing is a little more support from clubs and people in general. It seems that in cities like Madrid or Barcelona there is a new "awakening" in terms of techno and electronic music, which I am very happy about.

You have your own label ‘Falling Ethics’, what were your main reasons for starting a label?

Basically I decided to start Falling Ethics as a platform to launch my own music. To this day has changed a little my policy of publishing and not only use it as a platform for my own music but also to publish music by artists that I like or have a type of sound that I identify with.

A lot of people are starting their own labels these days, some with little or no knowledge what it entails. Do you have any advice for people who are considering starting their own label?

The first thing I would ask them or would I tell them to ask themselves is, why do I want to make a new label? What can I bring to the scene? Basically I would tell them to be honest with themselves and if they really feel it, go ahead!

Do you have a favourite place you like to play?

Berlin is always special to play. Possibly my favorite places are Tresor and Berghain though definitely after playing at Khidi Club in Tbilisi (Georgia) I can tell you that it is one (if not the most) of my favorite places to play. I also really like Cassette Club in Madrid.

You are located in Berlin now, There seems to be a lot of politics in this city in terms of where techno djs will play. Do you think this exclusivity in the scene is good thing?

In Berlin there are many parties every weekend of the year and all the djs you can imagine are here. I do not think that the djs are asked for exclusivity, but because of the demand, the frequency with which some djs play in the city has to be controlled a bit. Honestly this is something that I think happens in every city, not just Berlin.

Do you have any producers we should watch out for in 2017?

It's a hard question. There are many good producers nowadays out there but I would say Psi-DOM (who has released recently in Falling Ethics) and also I would recommend you Allisandnot.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
bottom of page