top of page

'Releasing on big labels is not the “be all and end all”' - Amotik Interview


We've only known him as Amotik since 2015, but it’s evident from his production quality and industry knowledge that the elusive artist behind the moniker has been around for considerably longer. Having shed past aliases, Amotik chose the unorthodox approach to go rogue under his new moniker and release almost exclusively on his own label of the same name. Potentially a foolhardy idea, the decision to insulate himself from the vagaries of the industry has paid off, bringing him closer to the production process and cementing his identity as a DJ and producer.

Listening to a track by Amotik is very much like teetering to the edge of oblivion, circling the void until he pulls you back the very last minute with a pulsating, jack-hammer bassline. His uncanny ability to build a meditative yet tense, anxiety-inducing sets means he is much sought-after, playing sets the world over as well as in his German homeland. In addition to his musical kudos, Amotik is also known for his uber-healthy diet and exercise regime; one month might see him hypnotising a crowd at Berghain while the next will see him crossing the finish line of Berlin’s Half Marathon.

While chatting with MOTZ, Amotik walked us through some of the decisions he has made during his career and how he keeps a balanced lifestyle.

We’ve noticed from your descriptions of music in some of your previous interviews that you have a multi-sensory experience sounds (you’ve described music as “warm/clean”, or music that “breathes”). Can you tell us a little about how you experience music when you are DJing, producing or simply listening to music.

If I’m DJing/writing/searching for music/on the dancefloor, I’m always searching for that one kind of hypnotic element that sucks me in. Something that makes me want to close my eyes, and tune out from the world.

You’ve been booked for gigs all over the world, from Lebanon to Georgia, Russia, Turkey and our very own Ireland. How do you adjust to all these far-flung places given that each city and venue has its very own vibe? Do you tailor your set depending on where you are?

I wouldn’t say that I tailor my set to a specific place - if it’s somewhere new for me, I’ll always aim to show up about an hour before I play to soak up the vibe and feel the room. Also if it’s a club/city I’ve played before, then I’d normally feel a little more relaxed just by having played there before and remembering what works well/not so well. Also, I feel sometimes that particular tracks I have will only work well on a particular dancefloor or soundsystem, so I’ll save those up for those special occasions. Otherwise, in general, it’s normally a case of going with the flow and seeing what happens. Things are always much more fun that way.

It must be an absolutely exhilarating experience, manipulating a crowd with your music like some evil genius puppet master when you are DJing. What goes on in your head when you’re behind the decks?

For sure it’s the one thing I’m looking for - that exhilarating feeling you mention, when everything clicks into place, where it’s practically impossible to take the smile off your face. As to what’s going on in my head - the main thing is keeping an eye on the floor, thinking about what to play next and when is the right time to bring it up, create tension, or take things down a bit so people can have a breather. I’m always trying to think 3-4 tracks ahead and finding a path to get to particular tracks that I know will have an impact.

You founded an eponymous label circa 2015 with yourself as the sole producer releasing tracks, a choice you made because you wanted to control the each step of the process. You’ve also declined to release on any label apart from Len Faki’s ‘Figure’ and a few select others. The decision to silo yourself like this was a brave move considering you were just starting out, and clearly a stroke of brilliance given the immense traction you’ve gained over the past couple of years. Weren’t you terrified initially and how did you manage to pull it off?

It definitely was quite scary, but I’m really happy to have taken that chance. I firmly believe that if the intention is pure, then things will eventually fall into place, but it requires a lot of patience. I guess my whole ethos with releasing almost everything on my label boils down to wanting to have the control to put out records when I’m excited about them, not when another label has a schedule that permits. When I started out (and still to date), I was never in a rush to get lots of music out just for the sake of it, or play 4+ gigs every single weekend - respect to the people that do that of course, but it’s not my sole aim. It’s more about letting things flow naturally, and taking on gigs/projects that have a good feeling about them. I do rarely release on other labels but generally that’s only if I have an existing relationship with the label, because a personal relationship is very important to me.

Have you ever released under a moniker other than Amotik?

Yes. More than one. That experience of releasing music in my past lead me to realise that releasing on big labels is not the “be all and end all”, and gave me the realisation that dealing with labels the other side of the world via faceless emails is not the most practical way of dealing with things in general. Also, to not rush into anything too much and to have confidence in yourself to let the right people/requests come to you, rather than forcing things.

We’ve noticed on your Facebook page that you pay particular attention to the length of the sets you play. In your opinion, how long is the ideal set?

That’s something I think about a lot to be honest. When playing in a club I find anything 2 hours or less a little rushed and I’m scrambling to play all my new/favourite music as quick as possible. I think 3-4 hours is definitely the ideal kind of time for me and allows more experimentation and journey within a set. Longer is always welcome, of course, especially at the start or end of the night.

As an in-demand DJ you must have a pretty intense schedule. You’ve been described as the ‘Healthy DJ’ and you don’t eat meat. How else do you manage your health, physical as well as mental, when you’re working and travelling?

For me, during the week it’s really important to have a very healthy balance (subjective of course, I’m certainly no athlete). I’m usually up at 6am every day and running approx 40-50km per week, and as I write this I’m in training for my first half marathon. I haven’t eaten any meat/dairy for nearly 5 years now, and feel way way way better for it. When I’m performing, apart from the obligatory glass of red wine at dinner which helps with a pre-show nap, I try to avoid drinking any alcohol when I play. As well as it being good for focus, it helps massively with the travel the following day. I won’t say this is a firm rule, because when my wife comes with me or if some friends are around, then it can sometimes go out of the window, but it should be the exception, rather than the rule. Also, when I play in Berlin, I like to let my hair down after I finish playing (figuratively speaking) as I know I can always be home and back in my bed within a matter of minutes.

Last year you went on a tour of India, stopping of in Chennai, Mumbai and Pune. How was that experience?

It was great. I had previously lived in India for 4 years, so I always welcome any excuse to get back there (if not for anything else, just to eat dosa). The scene is very much alive there - there’s so much choice every weekend now, and the venues are getting more interesting/exciting all the time.

You can catch Amotik playing at Revolt: The Beginning party in Sofia, Bulgaria on May 11th, for more information click here

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
bottom of page