top of page

'I really try to fight hard against boredom' - Alienata Interview


Originally hailing from Spain and eventually setting up shop in Berlin, Alienata has earned the respect of the techno community with her obscure and deliciously enigmatic DJ sets. Her fearlessness behind the booth caught the attention of the German label Killekill, who brought her into their familial fold when she moved to the techno capital in 2011. Although primarily aligning herself with the art of DJing, she has released remixes with Snuffo and was featured on the legendary Ben Sims ‘Tribology’ compilation. Leaning into her individualistic style in 2017 Alienata took the step to create her own label Discos Atónicos, whose straight-to-the-point mission statement is “passion for music”.

A true Maverick of the electro-techno revival, the purity of her relationship with music and disassociation with popular trends has gained her a loyal fan base and widespread acclaim within the DJ ranks (including the "Baron of Techno" Dave Clarke). With the purity of her craftsmanship and her razor sharp track selection, watching her spin records is always a pleasure.

They say that true courage is the ability to admit weaknesses. In this insightful, deeply personal and inspiring interview Alienata does exactly that, disclosing the personal hurdles she has overcome in her journey as a DJ.

To describe your set as genre-bending would be quite the understatement, with your range veering from electro-techno hybrids and then swerving to acid and slippery IDM melodies. Many DJs and producers have described feeling trapped because their artist moniker has been tied to a certain sound, but you’ve been fearless in your experimentation. Where did this inhibition come from?

Let's say that in my life I have always been persecuted by two big fears: the fear of being stuck and the fear of boredom. To this we must add that I am an extremely curious person and I've always been interested in all kinds of music. If we combine all these aspects, it is not difficult to understand where this inhibition comes from. I definitely have trouble following the rules or styles in general. I always imagine my sets as if I was cooking and I do not like always to eat the same! Many times when I am playing I have the need to change the bmp drastically or simply to confuse somehow the one who is listening or dancing, cutting the mix radically and continuing with something that “apparently” has nothing to do. It's like saying: wake up! Believe me I really try to fight hard against boredom.

You relocated to Berlin roughly circa 2011 to take your music to the next level. Would you say this was pivotal moment in your career and how did you stop from falling between cracks?

Definitely. When I decided to move to Berlin I knew that it would be an important step in my life, not only musically but also on a personal level. I fell many times in past years due to insecurity that dragged on since I was an adolescent and that did not allow me to believe enough in what I was doing. Berlin is an amazing place to learn but it can also be a dark place with a lot of competition, anxiety, fake souls and long nights that can lead you to a strange feeling of confusion. In these last years I have learned to move slowly but with firm step. Let's say I stopped hurrying to get to the finish line and started to enjoy more of the way. That change of perspective has made me strong and more relaxed. And if I have to fall again, I'll get up and continue on my way.

As individuals we absorb and connect with music differently. Can you talk a little about what the language of music and sound means to you?

I have a very deep relationship with music, let's say that in it I found the best way to express my own narrative. When I was a child I dreamed of being a writer or explorer - I always had a big imagination and the need to tell stories. Through the music I try to put soundtrack to all my obsessions, fears and satisfactions. I perceive it as a kind rhythmic cinema. As always I repeat: music affects me in a way that nothing else can do. It’s a very strong force.

When was your first foray into producing and how have you approached this skill over the years?

Years ago but it didn’t become like a real thing till I travelled to Chicago in 2012 to visit to my friend Traxx and I had the chance to locked myself in the studio for some weeks where I learned how to play some synths and I wrote my first songs. Well, my skills are in the process of learning!

How do you spend your time when you’re not making music? How do you relax and take care of yourself?

Cooking and after eating! I also love cinema, riding my bike, having a good conversation with a friend... After the amount of hours I spend every week listening, selecting or playing music, I need silence as a source of relaxation.

Where do you get your inspiration from when you’re producing a track?

It can come from either side, from a movie, a photography. Or sometimes in the most spontaneous way something crosses your mind and voila, you have an idea.

What does 2019 hold in store for Alienata?

I hope only good things! Haha. I will definitely enjoy myself a lot with all the nice shows that I have ahead, writing more music myself and also finishing more danger-bangers with my partner on crime Sync 24. And something super important for me at the moment: to push forward my label Discos Atónicos. I have fantastic releases ready to come out.

Alienata will be playing alongside Dave Clarke at Tresor next Friday 12th April, details available here

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
bottom of page