top of page

'If ya don’t like it, go fuck yourself' - Myler Interview


The formidable Myler has been bossing some major line ups across Europe including some badass B2Bs. He’s recently made the move to Belfast and is galavanting with the notorious DSNT gang.

We catch up with Myler to ask him about his latest shenanigans, AVA, who are the Buckfast Terror Squad and some of his upcoming projects.

How did AVA go for you this year? You played the DSNT x Lumen stage on the Friday night and also took part in a Native Sessions panel during the day, how did both occasions go down?

AVA for me is one of the best days of the year, it’s always sick. The crowds in Belfast are too good and the vibe is perfect for me. I’m not the best public speaker so the Native Sessions panel is always awkward for me but all in all, it went well. I mumbled my way through it again for the second year but they keep asking me back so I must be doing something right. The festival itself was amazing. Closing out the DSNT stage on Friday was of course the highlight for me. Everyone going for it to old Scott Brown hardcore bangers. Perfection.

There was a petition recently to get you a sponsorship with Buckfast. How much Buckfast did you get and who is the Buckfast Terror Squad?

Ah they didn’t want to be associated with rave and drug culture seeing as it’s bad for the brand which is understandable but as a token, they sent me some free swag. I got some t-shirts and a few bottles which was sweet haha, have to say the morning I received that package was a glorious day. The Terror Squad is me and my friend Nate Gammy, we’ve just been making some stupidly ridiculous hardcore and taking the piss. We should have some bits out soon.

You recently made the move up to Belfast, how would you compare the techno scene there to the rest of Ireland?

I love Belfast, best move I’ve ever made. Really helps being so close to the DSNT crew. The scenes are not too far apart to be honest. The Belfast crowd has a tendency to be a bit more wild but the Irish crowd in general are nuts.

You’re part of the DSNT crew who are making waves not only Ireland but also all around Europe. What is it like to play or attend a DSNT night for those who haven’t been?

You really need to attend a DNST party to get the vibe, it's lunacy. Pure escapism. All your mates in bits having the craic loosing their mind to all the bangers.

In Ireland it’s relatively difficult to make a career as a DJ/producer unless you move to a bigger city in Europe. What’s your advice for DJs/producers living in Ireland and trying to establish themselves?

I think things have changed of late. I don’t think it's difficult to make a career, being on the arse end of Europe is a bit of a pain alright but other then that, it’s ok. Dance music has become so popular in Ireland over the last few years, we are seeing a lot more talent rise through the ranks and make their way into the European touring scene. It really is nice to see that things have changed and people can start making waves.

Any Irish talent you’d like to mention that we should keep on eye?

Big shout to Nez, fresh off his boiler room at AVA festival. The man is an animal. Another alias is making some stuff as well and I’m hoping to see Tommy Holohan make waves this year.

You have an eclectic taste in tunes, do you think people take techno too seriously when certain DJ’s play anything other than techno? I.e. #trancegate.

Definitely, there is a weird ‘purist’ thing with techno which baffles me. So much prejudice towards genres people never actually gave the time to listen to. As a life long fan of MUSIC, I don’t see why people get so pissed off about exploring new music. I grew up listening to a lot of different genres and if I want to drop something I like, so be it. I’m the DJ. I’m playing…If ya don’t like it, go fuck yourself. Fair enough if it’s a ‘techno club’ and people come to hear someone play the same shit as the chap they went to see last week but that’s just not my vibe. Leave me out of your musical bigotry.

Any spicy releases coming out?

Yes, some jungle bits coming out soon under my Angry Joe Bass alias, some hardcore under Buckfast Terror Squad and some remixes as Myler.

Myler plays Stereo in Glasgow this weekend with the Voight-Kampff crew. Tickets available here.

Main Photo: Jasmin Bell

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
bottom of page