top of page

Stephanie Sykes - 8 Tracks for AVA


AVA Festival is fast approaching and with only 5 weeks to go, we caught up with Jaded's very own Stephanie Sykes. She's also a resident at Tbilisi's KHIDI club and has become something of a stalwart on the UK hard techno scene, with multiple sets throughout the country as well as an Australian tour scheduled for mid June.

With a sound that touches on slamming industrial techno, menacing rifts, squelchy acid rhythms and an overall 'in your face' aesthetic, Sykes AVA set on Friday night with the DSNT x Lumen crew couldn't come any sooner.

A taste of what's to come, Syke's eight tracks for AVA has us in a bit of a hoop already...

Fischerspooner - 'Emerge'

This well known, electronic, American-duo, comes from New York. I remember listening to this track a lot in my teen years, I especially love the vocals.

The Hacker - 'Other Voices'

The French musician 'The Hacker' put out this really beautiful track way back in the 90's. I'm really into my melodies so was instantly drawn to this record. Classic 1999 Electro/Techno!

Setaoc Mass - 'Disrepair' [SK11004]

A more recent techno-electronica producer that is taking the scene by storm is Setaoc Mass. Originally from Manchester but now living in Berlin. I love his productions and play his stuff in almost every set. He produces stunning melodies with driving drums. Here's an electronica track by him released on his own label in 2017.

DK8 - 'Murder Was The Bass' ( Reworked ) (2003)

This was one of the first techno/electronica records I ever bought and I still think it sounds fresh. I actually bought it for the A side but ended up playing it for the B side. These records are always the best finds!!

Mauro Picotto - 'Baguette' (2000)

When I was 16, I learnt how to mix from a 'surprise' box of hard house and techno records. Inside was a few records from Mauro Picotto. Straight away I liked his sound but it wasn't until recently that I came across this track when I went to see a friend in London. Thanks Mark!

A2 Reeko - 'The Grave Digger And His Bitch' - Mental Disorder (2008)

Reeko is hands down one of my favourite producers. This is an earlier record of his but it still sounds soooooo good! Absolutely goes off in a club! You would have definitely heard me play this out before. It's one of my go to tracks!!

Thomas P. Heckmann - 'EBM 1' (2001)

Thomas played for us recently at Jaded, an after-hours party at Corsica Studios in London where I'm a resident. It was one of the best Jaded's. He's a legend in the studio and killer behind the decks.

Equinox - 'Into Battle' ( Joey Beltram Remix) 1998

This is another killer record that never leaves my bag. It's very hypnotic and works really well layered over other tracks. It's just so simple and really flows with the rest of my sets.

Tickets are still available for AVA here and you can also catch Stephanie playing this weekend in Leipzig for Musical Knowledge.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
bottom of page