top of page

Bloody Mary Interview (Dame-Music, Ovum)


Why did you choose the alias ‘Bloody Mary’?

The name comes from the tasty cocktail called a Bloody Mary.

When did you first start getting involved with electronic music?

Music was always around me as a child. My mum was working at a national radio station in France back in the 80’s and I grew up influenced by her love for music and vinyl. As a teenager, I was listening to new wave until I went to my first rave party back in the 90’s. That’s when I was introduced to electronic music, and after that I bought my first pair of turntables and started collecting records.

Have you seen an influx of women producers and DJs since you first started in the industry?

I don’t like to draw a line between women and men when it comes to art or music. For me, an artist is a person who does their work with passion, regardless of their gender. Being true to your art, making your own music and communicating without lies on social media is what it should be all about.

Your label Dame-music has reached a milestone of 36 releases in its 7 years. Can you tell me about any upcoming releases you have on this label?

The forthcoming Dame-Music 036 is a collaboration in some ways – it’s a melting point between 3 artists – KiNK, Thomas P. Heckmann and myself. The idea was for us to create 3 acid tracks, showing our own take on the acid sound. It’s amazing to melt our creativity on the same EP and I really love this concept. I’m hoping to make a vol. 2 in the future, following the same concept with different artists, because working on this one was a real pleasure.

You have an eclectic selection of artists on your label, what is your selection process?

The musical direction of Dame-Music is a mix between house and techno. For me, it’s important that there’s a balance between both styles. In terms of quality, the thing that’s most important for me is to release the music of my artists on vinyl. That’s why I only work exclusively with real music lovers. I’ve made some errors in the past, working with the wrong people. I’ve learned my lesson and won’t do it again. I’ve been working with the same people for the mastering, distribution and artwork for many years. Maybe this is what’s lead to the quality over the years, as we all know each other well and that helps us to avoid making any errors. Many labels are putting all their energy into becoming brands, rather than focusing on the quality of the music. Personally I think record labels should remain focused on being a record label only. Running the label and ensuring quality output is enough work, and I think this should remain the sole focus of any label.

You started a live analog project with Attan called ‘The Jaydes’ back in 2012. Can you tell me a bit about your set up?

Collaboration is great! To exchange ideas with your friends is always a good thing. The live set up was based on hardware gear only, the same way I built my studio, so it’s perfect for jamming. I don’t really sit down when I’m producing, I love recording in the moment when I find the perfect groove. It’s a lot of fun doing it that way. We are now at the end of 2017 and I’ve made many tracks over the years so maybe it’s time to prepare a solo live set. I just need to find the perfect, easy and light equipment to do it. Let’s see what 2018 brings!

How does playing live compare to djing? Especially considering you perform with another person in your live act.

I love doing both – I don’t compare the two as they really compliment each other. I enjoy spending my time between my passion for hardware gear and vinyl.

A lot of amazing producers are coming from France at the moment, can you tell me some your favourites at the moment?

A lot of amazing producers are coming from everywhere :) If I have to name one I would say Alex Seidel from Berlin. He has a vinyl only label call Schwarz 12 and I’ve played his latest release a lot this year.

Her latest release is a joint EP with KiNK, Thomas P. Heckmann and herself and is due out on the 1st of December. Follow Bloody Mary on Soundcloud.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
bottom of page