top of page

'The scene is a tough business' - AVION Interview


From working in a club in Rostock to chopping through records and warming up for Dettmann and Marcel Fengler, AVION found himself feeling oppressed after experiencing the exhausting lifestyle that comes with being a sought after artist. Balancing a full time job with a DJing and producing career can be daunting and excessive but his passion and drive took reign, leading him to launch his very own record label Crossing’.

Pushing for a unique sound through his own productions, AVION built a clear vision for ‘Crossing’ before branching out within the underground community. Heavyweights such as Norman Nodge, Thomas Hessler and Blind Observatory have taken their own approach to AVION's melancholic beats with well received remixes recently signed to the label.

His own productions have caught attention in the techno realm and current release ‘Dispersion’ on Index Marcel Fengler is just a snippet of quality beats that have yet to come from the young producer. We caught up with him for a chat on how he aims to continue this adventure...

Many people are in the same situation as yourself, trying to balance a work life and a DJing career. Do you have any tips on how to maintain both and not become overwhelmed?

I am sure everyone would experience frustration or feelings of being overwhelmed by doing both. But, if you love what you do without being focussed on fame, it is much easier and you’ll benefit from it. You just need good time management skills without putting to much pressure on yourself and the rest will come by itself.

You base your income on engineering. Does this mean you are unsure about the future of DJing as a whole? Where do you think the scene is headed?

Oh no, I’m not unsure about the future of DJing and producing. I studied and started my job as an engineer for my head and to have a balance between music, life and home. The scene is a tough business and it is hard to get in. I see myself as still just starting out. I am not really focussed on networking and such but I believe quality and creativity will assert oneself in this scene.

You say that music is for the heart and soul, who do you listen to that makes you feel inspired and connected?

At the moment I am listening to many podcasts like ’Unrush’ and ’Reclaim Your City’ as well as music from Front242, Depeche Mode, Björk, Raster Noton Label and The Fugees.

Berlin is a special place and is often described as the mecca for techno. Are there any other places of interest where you would love to play?

Yes, of course. I have some Indian colleagues and found out that in India only a small techno scene exists and is still developing. I really would like to play there to see what’s going on. Of course cities like New York, Beirut, Rome or Johannesburg are also on my personal wish-list.

Do you think moving to Berlin has aided to you breaking out into the industry?

No, I don’t think it had an impact. I moved to Berlin for my job and not to push a musical career. I don’t believe it’s the city which is responsible for my music and creativity. Of course, it is sometimes easier to meet someone and get in contact with artists and other labels but I also have many friends which are successful in this scene don’t live in Berlin.

Nowadays, there are many record labels emerging into the scene. What was the starting point for Crossing and what impact would you like to have in the industry?

'Crossing' will turn five years old in 2018 and it has been a turbulent time up until now. Since I began my very first steps in producing, I wanted to establish my own label. The most important point I wanted to make with 'Crossing' was for it to be independent and free. In my life I only sent out two or three demos and got no response. I wanted to work with other artists and create my personal space to release music and sounds. It is very tough and often frustrating to start a label if you are completely unknown. In the last few years there has been an excessive oversupply of music in digital as well as on the vinyl market. Still, after nearly five years, it is a step by step development to reach my individual goals and I hope Crossing will stand out of this oversupply with its music and philosophy to bring something fresh into this scene.

What gave you the initial push to start producing?

The first push was when I was twelve years old, thanks to my brother and his 'borrowed’ Vermona GDR Drum and Rhythm machine. But the final push was provided by a friend who showed me one of the first Issues of Reason (Propellerhead). From there on there was no way back.

What can we expect from you in the upcoming months?

I am currently working with Thomas Hessler for the 'Crossing 010' which is planned for the end of the year. Additionally, there will be one AVION track released on the 'Various Artists Compilation 2' of my dear friends from District 66 in Hamburg. There are also some other interesting projects on 'Crossing' and other labels in the pipeline for the next months but more information on that soon.

AVION'S ‘Dispersion' EP is out now on vinyl and digital now.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
bottom of page