top of page

J.Tijn - Interview & Podcast


You might know J.Tijn from sets at THEM parties in London or for his unusual approach to sound which doesn't really have an approach - he simply produces multiple styles of music to see which ones gain a positive reaction.

In true J.Tijn style, he's just dropped a 20 track release 'Flingway' which is just a taster of what he's all about. But we wanted to know more so we caught up with Jesse aka J.Tijn for a chat after he recorded this month's MOTZ podcast...

So you recently dropped a 20 track solo debut called 'Flingway' could you tell us more about this LP?

Yeah, it’s not an LP in the traditional sense. It’s more like a best of the rest compilation of tracks that didn’t come out when I was in full tech-mode for one reason or another. There’s many more tracks which I’m looking into making available at a later date. The ones available now tho are those that I still had project files or wav exports of.

You've also released Flingway Part 2 and are currently giving away remix parts on your Bandcamp. What is the ideology behind this?

Part 2 is just volume 2 of part 1 really, there’s no reasons for any tracks being on 1 as opposed to 2. The stems thing is something I’ll be doing more of. Now that I’ve stopped creating “content” for the J. Tijn alias it’s like I can see it more as a product. I want to make it all accessible to everybody as possible. Not just the tracks but the sounds and loops as well. I always liked the way grime producers made tracks with each other’s sounds or adopted each other’s styles for certain tracks. Would be wicked to hear other people putting their spins on my stuff in a similar fashion

What's your musical direction for the future?

I have no idea. I still make a lot of different styles of music so I guess the direction will be determined by what people respond best to.

Check out J.Tijn's latest podcast for us below...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
bottom of page